The Transsexual Myth

The transsexual myth

Now, I thought I might finish off my foray into sexual myths by saying something about transsexual/transgender people as part of the mythspace.

What it is is there are these people that want to change their genetic or birth gender.

Their self reports are interesting in that they often say that they’ve always felt like the other gender ‘trapped’ in the wrong body.

No one ever thinks to dispute this because of the believed infallibility of personal psychology. This is actually an extension of the believed infallibility of personal psychology because not only does the person themselves find it indisputable but others find it impossible to dispute. For instance if I said “I have been experiencing the existence of God since I was a child” Others might still dispute whether I have really been experiencing God whereas if I say “I have been a male trapped inside a female body since I was I child” no one will dispute my experience.

My biggest objection so far as transsexuality is concerned is surgery being used to correct the ‘problem’ especially if public money is used for this purpose.

Say if a person had any other sort of delusion would surgery be contemplated in order to change them into the thing that they said in their delusion that they were? Of course not.

See: http://news.softpedia.com/news/Most-of-the-Sex-Change-Operation-Are-Harmful-or-Disappointing-61906.shtml

If a household animal acted as one or another sex from its own then would surgery be contemplated? I doubt it.

(Using such search terms as “sex change surgery for pets” I was unable to find an incidence of someone actually doing that to an animal for that reason even in America!)

So actually people treat other animals better than humans in this case. It’s only because we live in cultural fantasy worlds that people are willing to mutilate themselves. With animals there’s no cultural fantasy worlds – no mutilation.

Secondly, it is so relative that its ridiculous. If you mutilate in that way (and this goes for most plastic surgery) then you’ve admitted that you’re completely subservient to societal expectation.

Basically you’re saying that if you woke up one morning and found that everyone’s nose had disappeared in the night except yours you’d b running to the plastic surgeon crying “Quick cut off my nose – I’m a freak!”

It’s the same for sex changes. If everyone was born in the situation that the transgender person says they find themselves in then everything would be equalised.

So if everyone was born having the behaviour and sexual desires of the other gender then there would be no problem at all – all roles would simply be reversed. It would only be that if there were a few people around that were what we call normal that there would be any problems. Infact they would then have to get surgery to fit in with the societally acceptable body for their ‘felt gender’.

How stupid is that?

2 thoughts on “The Transsexual Myth

  1. There are two issues. First, my name is Clare, I express myself as a woman, and those around me seem to humour me in that, mostly. I have no wish at all to go back to my Christian name.

    Second, one of the moments of greatest joy I have ever had is sitting in my psychiatrist’s rooms, listening to him dictating a letter recommending surgery for me. It was what I wanted more than anything else. After, I wondered how I would feel if a toe had to be amputated. It would horrify me. I don’t think mere social pressure is sufficient to make me want to be “mutilated” so extremely, which cost me a fair amount of money.

    Anyway, there are feminine men and masculine women. We talk of women “wearing the trousers” in a relationship. However, they tend to be discreet about it.

You may very well comment here

